inTank Media Baskets

IM Nuvo 16 - My First Build

throbbinjack

Hello All,

I'm new to aquariums in general, started reeding forums and (a lot of) books for about year now. Finally decided to start my small Nuvo 16 build based on lot of good material on this forum. So here it goes;

Equipment:

-------------

Tank: Innovative Marine Nuvo 16

IM Desktop skimmer (Ideally want to get rid of thins micro bubble madness!)

AI Hydra Fiftytwo LED Lights

Custom Stand, Custom Light Fixture for AI Hydra Fiftytwo

2 x Intank Media baskets

20 lb Live Fiji rock

Apex Neptune Controller with Lab Grade PH probe

Apex Wireless Module for AI

Cobalt Aquatics 100w heater

Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155

Vertex Puratek 100 GPD RO/DI

Cured Live rocks for 6 weeks

-------------------------------------

100% WC every 3 days for 3 weeks

50% WC every 3 days for 3 weeks

0 ammonia, 0 nitrates , 0 nitrites after 6 weeks.

Tank Setup

--------------

Started water testing IM Nuvo 16 tank around 2nd week, immediately found water leak had to send it back to IM. Tank replacement took about 4 weeks. Finally tank was setup couple of weeks, started the new skimmer, return pumps.

The troubled IM Desktop Skimmer

---------------------------------------

At this point, think I made a wrong choice even after reading many of your issues with the IM Desktop skimmer.

1. Crazzzzy micro bubbles - i'm in 3rd week of setup, can't seem to stop the madness!

2. Skimmer started leaking between the collection cup and the skimmer body.

3. Too noisy

I'm going to contact IM tomorrow, see if they can resolve or else it's $100 down the drain. Definitely hate it, bad design and bad product in my view.

Still waiting to setup following

1. Neptune Apex Controller

2. AI Hydra Fiftytwo with Apex Wireless controller

3. Designed Ordred custom fixture from 8020 for AI Hydra Fiftytwo

4. Tunze Osmolator 3155

Skimmer is definitely making the problem worse, rest I don't see an issue at this point.