Coral Vue Hydros

College's CADlight 8g Mini

CollegeNanoKid

CollegeNanoKid

Hello All!

The following is my build thread starting 8/4/2013 when I ordered my supplies:

I have been researching saltwater aquariums for about two years now. I have read lots of forums and conducted a lot of research. I will be using this thread for my own records and hopefully to get help when I run into questions.

Please chime in, any advice or constructive criticism is much appreciated!

About me: I am a physical therapy graduate student, I will have my DPT in 2 more years.

About the tank:

I am going to make an effort to keep track of the price of my tank ( :blink: ) know that you should not get into this hobby on a budget, however reality is, I do have a budget. My goal is $500 ish.

Things I have already ordered online:

• CAD Lights 8 g Mini with stock LED fixture $180 (I hope it gets here in one piece)
  • API Master Liquid Test Kit - Saltwater $16.00
  • Battery back up Air pump (for emergency use) $6.00
  • Reef Crystals 50 gallon mix $18.00
  • Hydrometer $9.00
  • Revive Coral Cleaner $7.00
  • Chemi-Pure Elite $9.00
  • Sera Filter Wool $3.00
  • Maxi-Jet 900 $18.00 (for mixing SW)
  • Ammonium Chloride Solution (for cycling) $3.00
  • Eheim Jager 50 Watt $24.00 (for tank)
  • Deep Blue 100 watt heater $14.00 (for mixing SW)
  • Floating thermometer $2.50
  • Mag-Float 30 $8.00
  • Dr. Tim's One and Only $10.00
  • Arag-Alive Special Grade Sand 10 lbs $14.00
  • Thermometer LCD stick-on (back-up thermometer) $2.00
  • Gravel Vac $2.00
  • 7 Pounds Bulk Reef Supply Reef Saver Rock $25.00
  • 10 gallons distilled water $10.00
  • 5 gallon bucket $5.00

Total Thus far: ~$386.00

Things I need to get:

Distilled water @ 0.88 cents/gallon

2 x 5 gallon buckets

Gloves for handling corals

CUC via reefcleaners when the time comes

Plans for the tank:

One clownfish and basic coral (one green candycane and one torch coral) and CUC. That is all.