Top Shelf Aquatics

[Custom] ChrisS

ChrisS

I’ve been thinking about starting a nano tank. I don’t have much marine experience; I just started my 1st tank about 4 months ago (it’s a 29g seahorse tank).

I found a good deal on a used 10g custom tank from my local aquarium club and decided to get it. Then I saw this contest and thought it’d be fun to join in. I just have a couple of problems: 1) I’m a newb so the learning curve may be a bit steeper for me and 2) $$$. I spent enough getting my seahorses so I don’t have much to spend on this tank.

So I decided that I’m setting a budget of $500 for this tank (that's my spending limit for hte duration of the contest). I already have some basic suplies but I decided that I'm going to treat this as if I'm starting from scratch. Everything I use for this tank is going to be included in the budget. So follow along and see if a newbie can create a nice looking nano without spending a fortune.

Tank

This tank has a disply area of 15” long, 10” wide, and 12” tall. It has a false back with an additional 3” behind the display area. This tank was purchased used and I believe it may be a custom tank.

Lighting

Lighting is Solar Lighting PC system. It has two 27 watt 10k daylight bulbs right now but I’m planning on replacing the bulbs. I got this used and the last owner hadn’t replaced the bulb in quite a while.

Substrate

Substrate is oolithic sand, 2-3” deep. Most was dry sand (Marine Life brand) and a cup of live to seed it.

Filtration

My filtration is just the live rock and macros in the ‘built in’ fuge behind the false back.

Water is pumped through the system using a Rio 50 (69 gph). I don’t plan to use a skimmer.

Additional water flow

I may add another small powerhead to increase flow in the future. I’m not sure exactly what this may be yet.

Temperature

AGA 50 watt heater

Water

Instant Ocean mix with RO water.

Stocking