Cultivated Reef

Putting together a 20g

Guest JayDUBh11

Guest JayDUBh11

I am new to the saltwater hobby and I plan on putting together a 20g tank. I am still trying to learn all I can so I can do it right and have a successful tank. I have already purchased the tank itself - a 20g regular size (24"x13"x16") from SeaClear made of acrylic. The tank will be in my bedroom, so I am aiming for as quiet as possible. I want something enjoyable and relatively easy to maintain.

For lighting I have chosen the "Orbit" made by Current USA and I am looking for a good timer to put it on (Coralife PowerCenter?). It comes with 2 SunPaq 65w's (10000K, actinic, and 2 lunars).

Filtration will be done through 20 pounds of Fiji Live Rock and 10-15 pounds of Live Sand (which I still need a recommendation on). I would also like to add a HOB Protein Skimmer. Right now I am choosing between the BakPak 2R+, SeaClone, and AquaC Remora. I am open to any other suggestions or recommendations. I am under the impression that a filter will not be necessary, please confirm this or correct me if I am wrong.

For circulation I plan on going with 2 MaxiJet 600's on each side of the tank. I have also looked at the AquaClear's because I like the idea of having something adjustable but I understand that they cannot be hooked up to wavemakers. I initially was getting a 100w Jager for my heater but it will not fit so I am thinking about going with something fully submersible like the VisiTherm Stealth.

I need to find some good test kits and cleaning utensils such as a scrubs for acrylic, nets, buckets, gloves, propagation tools, etc. I have been told that Salifert has the best test kits, so I think I will go with them for Ammonia/Nitrate/Nitrite testing. For specific gravity I will either go with a cheap refractometer or an Instant Ocean Hydrometer.