Pod Your Reef

Need suggetions for flow for 10g

HSV

Hello Everyone,

I am new to nano and this is my first post here. I have kept large tanks but due to move i decided to try out nano setup. I have 10g setup and i need your suggetions for flow. This is going to be mainly softy and lps kind of setup.

I bought topfin 10g kit from petsmart and it came with topfin 10 HOB which doesn't seem to have much flow but i will just keep it for the carbon etc... I definately need more flow. For now i wanted to keep this setup simple so it won't have sump or skimmer but it will have low bio load and i will try to keep up with water changes.

So i am looking for suggetions for adding powerhead. For 10g, what powerheads and how many should i use? Again this will be mainly softy and lps so i am not looking for sps kind of flow :) .

i would use 2 maxijets 400s and place them in the back corners of the tank and try not to face them at each other i forgot why but try not to and put the HOB and i think that you should be fine

Welcome to nano-reef! I would have to agree with the maxijet sugestion. You may want to also search for the AC700 fuge project in DIY, and mabey a hydor on one of your powerheads, just for fun...

As you suggested, your HOB filter is fine as long as you don’t keep a mechanical filter pad in there very long and don’t have a Bio-wheel. In fact, you could consider another one for redundancy and to increase your flow. Along these lines, I agree that you could look at any number of HOB filter conversions (to a refugium), and put Cheato algae in it for nutrient reduction and flow.

However, some HOB filters do not restart on their own after a power failure (make sure that you have a source of flow that will work without intervention after a power failure). A mix of an HOB filter and a powerhead is fairly common.