Innovative Marine Aquariums

Black Arogonite Sand?

Buehler

I was wondering if anyone has ever used black sand in their tanks? I always see the white sand being used. Thought of this after seeing it at my LFS. Any issues with light since it is dark colored?

I have tahitian black moon sand in my tank -- only problem is keeping it clean - detrius collects on the surface and is very noticeable.

black moon sand isnt aragonite so you wont have any buffering capabilities

I'm sorry..."buffering capabilities"? I'm new to this. Can you please explain?

Ritsuko Nashida

The sand you are talking about in all probability is Tahitian Moon from CaribSea or Este's, and it is valcanic ash common on many beaches in the Indo-Pacific. Unlike Argonite and Calcium based sands it will not do any thing for you in the way of boosting Calcium levels or maintaining alk in your tank. This will make it a near neccessity to use some sort of supplement to get the levels up and keep them thier. This is usually not much of an issue in tanks with "white sand" becuase of this type of sands ability to "Buffer" the water.

The Tahitian Moon does show the build up of crude in the tank though. This can be a good thing every bit as much of a bad thing. Good in that its clearly visiable and can be siphoned off, bad in that this can be a pain to do every few days. Its just depends on if you veiw the glass as Half empty or Half Full.