Top Shelf Aquatics

How to setup my aquarium

TheNanoReefer

TheNanoReefer

i know this is going to sound like a complete newbie question. i have been reading a ton of threads on here and YES, i do know where the search button is :P

anyway, i have an AP24 that i will be getting ready for its cycle within the next week. I just waiting for chiller and sunpod to arrive first.

The reason for this thread is simple, i keep reading and all these old threads and peoples suggestions seem to contridict themselves. Here are my questions.

1. Light on or off during cycle?

2. If I dont do a fuge, what should I fill back chamber with? Rubble only and ditch the blue sponge, or keep it?

3. is maxijet 1200 too much flow for 24g tank?

4. is fuge beneficial with such a small system?

im really considering doing a fuge, but have read numerous remarks about how they are "neat" but really dont do much in a small tank like mine. If i put some LR rubble in the rear, get a nano remora skimmer... am I good there or should I start planning for the fuge now while its early and easier to do now..

TheNanoReefer

well again, im not sure if I need my light yet or not (ordered sunpod 150w off ebay, should have on Tuesday... gonna order chiller soon)... and also im in DFW texas and its been like 105+ all week, with no chiller im scared... i do have a/c in my house, but the room this is going in has a huge window and id just feel more comfortable once I have my light/chiller

(not to mention, i havent finished up my custom stand im building, should be done this weekend)

I applaud your effort to bring about consensus on these issues, but I doubt it's going to happen. It's really up to you to weigh the differing opinions and decide what is best for your situation. With the lights during cycling, you can split the difference of opinion and go with a short photoperiod and gradually increase it through the cycle.