inTank Media Baskets

tiny jellyfish-looking things

mgterry

on the glass

swimmer1.jpg

swimming

swimmer2.jpg

Sorry about all the debris in the background, I was cleaning my glass when I decided to take the pics.

I fist noticed one of these swimming around in my tank less than a week ago. I now have at least 15-20 of them on my glass. They seem to spend most of the time on the glass, but take off and go for a swim when I clean the glass. They swim like jellyfish. The tiny ones are so small I can barely see them, but some of them are as big as a half centimeter across when attached to the glass.

I'm sure this is probably something very common, but I'm new to this (still cycling) and just want to know if they are good/bad, what are they, etc.

The hydroids won't sting any fish or corals that I add? Also, I haven't found any hydroid colonies... is it hiding in my rock somewhere?

The Propagator

They are harmfull to small fish, seahorses and certain coral if they land on them.

smash all ya see or syphon them out is my suggestion.

darkstar339

they will die on their own. jellies need circular tanks with circular flow. if not they tend to bump into things and just fall apart. and they can't swim with much force so they will get caught in filters and powerheads. don't worry they should be gone in a short while.