Cultivated Reef

My first reef -- 45 gallon acrylic cube (picture intense)

roper512

Well, here it is. My first tank that I filled a little more than a week ago. I have been researching this hobby for the past 3-4 years mainly through forums and select books. Once I was making some decent money and was in a place I figured I'd be in for awhile I decided to take the plunge.

Before pictures let me go into some specifics about the tank..

Equipment:

Tank - 45 gallon custom acrylic cube built by James @ envisionacrylics. 1/2" polycast (cell cast) acrylic.

Lighting - Giesemann 250w Metal Halide pendant (~9inches from water surface)

Skimmer - Deltec MCE600 w/ Seachem Matrix carbon

Flow - (2) Tunze 6000 pumps with 7095 multicontroller (interval 2, throttled between 60-100%)

Controller - Aquacontroller Jr. w/ temp & lab grade pH probe. DC8 plugged into surge on battery backup.

Heater - 200w Finnex

Top Off - Spectrapure Litermeter III

RO/DI Unit - Spectrapure 2000+ 60GPD

Battery Backup - APC Back UPS RS 1200 (only powerheads plugged into battery backup, rest on surge).. Plugged into GFCI outlet.

Live Rock - 65 pounds Marshall Island cured live rock (from premium aquatics).. Cooked for 5-6 months.

Substrate - 60 pounds Caribsea Select

Tank Setup:

Sits next to my desk where I spend most of my time. I use my computer for gaming and also design work and I spend a lot of time in here.. Therefor I figured next to my desk would be a great place so I could always check it out. The Aquacontroller jr. is mounted on the outside of the tank on the side that I sit near. I can always check the temp and pH easily and make adjustments to the timers no problem. The Litermeter III pulls water from a 6 gallon reservoir which is right around the corner in my living room. My reason for doing this is that the living room is always much cooler than my bedroom (because of tank and two computers) and the cooler water being pumped into tank all day will help with temperature a bit.