SaltCritters.com

Complete Newbie!

NanoNewbie77

NanoNewbie77

Ok, at least im not a newbie about fish keeping since i breeded guppies for 3 years or so, but this is my first saltwater tank. I have to make the whole tank low budget since im too young to work and my dad has to pay for most of it :-P .

Anyway, I stuck with my 20 gallon horizantal tank that my guppies used to live in and cleaned it out well. I kept my carbon filter and some decor and a heater but that's about it. I bought crushed coral subtrate, 2 live rocks, a powerhead, and a protein skimmer with the help of a nice petco dude. So my first problem already came up when the protein skimmer was to large to fit in the tank (like it was sticking out of the top since the tank is big longways). We had to cut a whole in the hood so it would fit, but I think im using it wrong because there are salt deposits all around the back of the tank and the table the tank is placed on. Is this normal??

I waited maybe 2 weeks or so and added a $5 damsel and a red shrimp. Big mistake... I learned that saltwater takes much longer to cycle than fresh and he died, but the shrimp lived. Since then I did a whole lot of reaserch and I bought a full saltwater test kit. Since then, I've been testing and waiting, testing and waiting...

Right now i have the red shrimp and a few little hermit crabs in my tank. Today I was filling up my tank with new water (dechlorinated of course) and noticed hundreds of little white crab-like creatures in my tank and a snail!! A little reasech told me they where lil pods and harmless, but is it true that this means that my tank is doing good, but according to the tests it isn't done cycling. That lead me to this site.

Today's Test Results:

PH: 8.1

Ammonia: 0.50

Nitrite: 0

Nitrate: 60-100 (in the middle)