Hey Topless People - Is a separate fuge light required?

SanDiegoIllini

SanDiegoIllini

Hey there-

Anyone who runs an all-in-one (Nanocube or Aquapod), has a fuge, and runs 'topless' I have a question. Do you really need a separate fuge light? I assume you're likely using some kind of metal halide light or something else up on those little legs (like this: http://www.current-usa.com/sunpod.html).

Do the little legs elevate the light fixture high enough so that light bleeds back into the fuge, eliminating a need for a second light?

If you are using Chaeto, it prefers a "cooler" color temperature of around 6500K. If you are using a metal halide, they run >10,000K so they aren't the optimal spectrum. I'm a newbie too, so take it for what it's worth but that's what I've gathered from reading around here. You can get an ideal refugium light at Home Depot for 20 bucks. Same thread I mentioned in Lindsey's thread where you were asking about the mod to the rear chamber.

http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?...c=70138&hl=easy

qualudethunder

You can't run your fuge on a reverse or 24/7 light cycle if you are using the same bulb as your tank ;) . Therein lies the problem. Most people do not run their fuge on the same cycle as their main tank. The light spectrum would work, but like Yeahitsk said a 65k bulb(actually a warmer color) would be optimal.

SanDiegoIllini
You can't run your fuge on a reverse or 24/7 light cycle if you are using the same bulb as your tank ;) . Therein lies the problem. Most people do not run their fuge on the same cycle as their main tank. The light spectrum would work, but like Yeahitsk said a 65k bulb(actually a warmer color) would be optimal.