ReefCleaners.org

New to this site, and new to salt water

cmoreash

Hello everyone :),

I am new to SW, and have had FW tanks for years.  I have decided to give SW a try.   Here is what I was thinking on for my new 29 gallon tank:

-an Aqua Clear 300

-a visi-jet protein skimmer

-a 300gph penguin powerhead

-a 100 watt ebo-jager heater

-60 watts of light (3 20-watt bulbs): a actinic, a 50/50, and a daylight

-live sand, and 20-25? pounds of live rock.

I am gonna try some types of coral, I don't know what yet, and MAYBE stuff like anemomaes.

I am thinking for fish: a pair of percula clowns, a goby, and a few damsels.  plus a bunch of crabs, snail, etc.

Should I use my tap water (hard, ph around 8), or use de-ionized RO water (soft, ph around 6.3)?   Do you guys have any thoughts on my proposed setup?  Comments, questions?  I am gonna do all this near the end of July, after I get enough cash.

Thank you!

if youa re planning on keeping corals or anenomes or anythign you are going to need to up the lighting. also i wuld recomeend using more rock than 20-25 pounds. maybe more like 35-40. at least use 25. but the more rock the more filtration. i guess you could add more live sand but you do not want too much of a dsb. i personally only like about 1 inch of sand but otehrs will recomend up to 4 inches

ok, i maybe i will do 30 pounds.  live rock is so expensive $5 a pound at my local store...Well, does the filtration/water movement sound ok?  for sand I was thinking 2 inches.

ok, for compact flourescents...i am thinking on 2 55 watts then..  what bulb combo would work best, and what time(s) should they be on?  or could I have this, plus a 20 watt NO flourescent bulb? (i already have fixture for that).    Do I need fans for the PC fixture?  I am looking at www.petsupplyliquidators.com, and www.ahsupply.com....thanks

NanoReefer53