SaltCritters.com

nanogirl314 - My Aquapod 12 =)

nanogirl314

nanogirl314

I've been doing research about nano reefs for about six months and now I've finally started up my Aquapod 12! I've gleaned so much information from this site and I wanted to share with all of you my beautiful new tank.

About the tank:

The tank is just three days old. I'm using RO water from WalMart with Reef Crystals salt. pH is about 1.023-1.024 according to my hydrometer. I just bought a refractometer via ebay so that should get here soon for a more accurate reading.

The tank has 12 lbs nano live rock from Premium Aquatics, 3 lbs live rock rubble from PA in the back chambers , 3 lbs florida live sand from PA, and 10 lbs of Nature's Ocean BioActive Aragonite sand.

I'm using a 50 watt Ebo-Jager heater. I added a second fan and wired the fans to a variable adapter so I could adjust the speed. I also popped the plastic strips out from the fan vents and the temp is holding at a steady 78 degrees.

I ditched the sponges, bio-balls, and ceramics rings. I cut open the bags that the rings were in and put the rock rubble in the bags. The bags keep the rubble nice and neat and I've found that it allows for better water flow through the chambers. If there happens to be anything wrong with putting live rock in media bags, someone please let me know!

:)

Now for the pics! My camera is not the greatest but I think it shows the cool rock shapes pretty well. The rock looks pretty pale in the pictures; it has more color (nice greens and some purple) in real life.

post-17887-1144544202_thumb.jpg

post-17887-1144544329_thumb.jpg

post-17887-1144544352_thumb.jpg

So there it is! Comments, suggestions, all are welcome. :D

-NanoGirl314

Pinner Reef