Innovative Marine Aquariums

Is 20 watts worth an extra $125?

Kellie in CA

Kellie in CA

Hello! I am new to the forum and I appreciate everyones help! I am looking at purchasing a new tank, I have looked at 2 set-ups, and since I have no knowledge of lighting I have a few questions. 2 different fish stores have offered to put together a 30 gallon package for me one has 2x55 watt lights, the other has 2x65 watt lights. The price difference is $125. Will the 20 extra watts be worth the extra $125? Everything else about the packages are the same.

BTW I am not planning on keeping anything too difficult to start out with, this is my first try with saltwater and if I really like it I wil probably move on to a much bigger tank.

Thanks! :)

annamarie421

You could ask the LFS offering the 2x55w package how much more they would charge for a 2x65w setup. That's what I'd do.

Anna :)

Not worth the price difference IMHO. You will not likely see a difference at all in light output. If you look at the bulbs for those sizes, they all say 55w/65w so I'm assuming either way they use the exact same ballast. If you give all the details about the setups, then I am sure we could help you put together something just as nice or nicer for the same price or cheaper.

Kellie in CA

Ok, so say I just buy all of the components on my own. Lets say I get a 40 or 50 gallon glass aquarium and a stand. Then what? I am totally confused as to how I could set up my own appropriate filter, I have always done freshwater and used the Eclipse Hood (which worked wonderfully!). I assume for the lighting I would just buy one of those light strips with the legs, but what do I put on top so the fish can't jump out? I am hopeless!!! I just want to make sure I buy all the right stuff the first time. :)

neanderthalman