SaltCritters.com

First SW Tank (Need pros and cons, and some good constructive suggestions)

livingsea2

Ok i just started my first 15 gallon saltwater tank. Im very excited and to be honest already addicted. I'm new to the hobby so dont be to harsh. A little about me im 18 and live in FL (right outside of daytona beach). I have a turtle tank with 2 red eared sliders (had for a year now), and have always been fasinated with SW tanks. I was first offered a free 15 gallon eclipse tank, so i took it. After much research i took off the hood and stored it and starting buying dry good for my tank. First i got a Millennium 2000 wet-dry multi-filter that is made up to a 40 gallon tank, also i put in 10 lbs of crushed coral for substrate and a 30 watt heater. Then i added 13 gallons of distilled water (r/o was what i wanted but had no jug to put it in) mixed instant ocean salt correctly and let run overnight, checked salinity next day and was perfect (still is). Then i added 10 lbs of cured live rock (getting 20 lbs more this week) and a Zoomed powersweet 214 (made for tanks of to 30 gallons) i put the power head in the back righthand corner and seems to be working fine. Then i came to lighting and had a bit of an off-track. I purchased a new 20" hood and a 15 watt 50/50 coralife bulb. After to days i brought the coralife back and purchased a 20" Current USA satalitte PC 80 watts (seems to be working great). After a week and one 10% water change i added one Blue Damsel with a yellow tail since my local sw store told me to do so. He is doing good feeding him frozen brine shrimp (in small portions). After reading a bit more i prob. should have held off on the fish, but its a lil late. Anyways, I bought a test kit to check pH, nitrite, nitrate, and a hydrometer and everything seems good so far. Only concern is I havnt had any spikes yet in any field, should that be a concern? Hopefully in about 2 weeks I can add a few snails and a crab or 2, then a week later add a shrimp and