ReefCleaners.org

Pictures of my porcelain crab catching plankton.

Drysocket

I couldn't find him when I got home from work today, but after I added some Kent Phytoplex, he came right out and started sticking out his net thingies.  If anyone knows what you call those, please inform.  He holds them up and they open like little fans or nets.  then he folds them down and eats whatever's on them.  It's really cool to watch.

Here he is with two up...

LeftyEating.jpg

.....and one up.

LeftyEating2.jpg

:homer:mmmm...Plankton:homer:

fishymissy

Excellent photos!!

Sorry I don't know the what he is using to catch the plankton with. Maybe modified gills????

How reef safe are those crabs? Okay with anemones and clams?

thoses are his mandables a couple of modfied legs which covers their mouth area and they use it to grab food.  lobsters have it also most shell fish have it

Mysk = im a chef i like to eat the fishies to

drysocket,

i noticed in one of the pictures that you have a coral banded shrimp in the same aquarium... i have heard that these guys aren't compatible with other shrimp, but i figured that incompatibility extended to other crustaceans as well.  have you ever seen him pick on your porcelain?  cool looking crab, i'd also be interested to know how reef-safe they are!

Has the porcelin crab accepted any food other than phytoplankton?  

Oh, and careful with that phytoplankton stuff.  I heard it can polute your tank fast.

FishyMissy - They seem to be reef safe, but they will take an anemone as a host.  On liveaquaria.com, it claims that they'll sometimes compete with a clown for an anemone.

Flaunt - That is a coral banded in the background. It's been 3 days now and they just seem to ignore each other.  The shrimp has gotten near the crab a couple times, but never messed with him.