Pod Your Reef

ID please - encrusting gorgonian/xenia

Angry-Monkey

Angry-Monkey

I posted this picture in my member gallery with the title "encrusting gorgonian" and there were a number of people who commented on the picture stating that it was a xenia.

Im relatively new to the hobby but I have looked at many pictures of xenia and I'm pretty confident that this is not one.

I received the piece from a friend of mine that has been in the hobby for ~6 years and he told me that it was an encrusting gorgonian.

This coral is growing over a piece of macro algae, using the macroalgae as its base. This is not something that I have seen in any xenia I have looked at. For lack of better words it is "encrusting" over the dead macro. There is another piece in my tank which is on a branch (which my friend informed me was a piece of dead gorgonian of another species).

I have looked around online and admitably, most gorgonians i have found do not look like this. Although I did find one, the "corky finger", which did resemble my coral in a few photographs.

Any help?

post-18392-1141670581_thumb.jpg

look under the information link at the top of the page there is a coral database.

using the functions of this site takes up less bandwith and cuts down on repetative lame posts that could have been avoided if the poster would not be too lazy to look.

here I did the looking for you, i would click on the link for you but I am not there.

http://www.nano-reef.com/corals/?coral=21

Angry-Monkey
look under the information link at the top of the page there is a coral database.

using the functions of this site takes up less bandwith and cuts down on repetative lame posts that could have been avoided if the poster would not be too lazy to look.

here I did the looking for you, i would click on the link for you but I am not there.

http://www.nano-reef.com/corals/?coral=21

Right.