Coral Vue Hydros

Nitrates off the chart?

dicegame

20 gal tank,20 lbs LR, some coral frags. tri head frogspawn, 1 yellow tailed damsel and a false perlicula clean up crew also.

The nitrates are off the chart and have been for 2 weeks water change 30% last weekend and 30% today. Nitrates still off the chart and everything is doing fine nothing dead and everything seems happier than usual.

Am I on the brink of a disaster? :o

Hi dicegame :welcome: to nano-reef. I'm no expert, at all. I'm a 'rookie' at this as well. What is the exact reading on the Nitrates?

This is how my test kit describes nitrates. "Nitrate is the byproduct of nitrifying bacteria in the biological filter breaking down ammonia and nitrite. Nitrate is used by aquatic plants and algae as a food source. While relatively harmless to the aquarium,high levels can lead to excessive algae growth. Levels should be kept below 40 ppm and should be tested weekly.

Do you have alot of algae in your tank? Also was it cycled good before you added your fish?

Again, welcome, and Good Luck.

Shadoe ;)

While relatively harmless to the aquarium,high levels can lead to excessive algae growth. Levels should be kept below 40 ppm and should be tested weekly.

This would be the case for a FO aquarium. Fish can take some higher levels but marine invertebrates don't and some are more sensitive to it than others. In your reef aquarium you don't want levels higher than 25ppm IMO.