1st Timer questions

Shadoe

Hi Guys.

I've been reading your posts all week. Very interesting. I got a 5 gallon tank last weekend. I went and chatted with the LFS, and he sold me crushed coral, one piece of LR, and water from an established tank. Of course, all the water test readings are in the safe zone. My question was does this by-pass the 'cycling' process?! I just wanted to make sure before I stocked. I want to do this with no loss of Marine life. ;) Any comments or tips welcome.

P.s. Glad to be among the helpful (And will add pics soon) :D

-Shadoe

Hi there, congratz! I'm no expert but your tank seems to complete the cycle way too fast... I am running the cycle now and expect it to be as long as 3 weeks.

You can always add an extremely hardy fish in there this weekend (oh I'm gonna be so flame for suggesting this, lol).

You intend to keep corals?

Yes show us your tank!

Hi Jervismun,

Thanks for your reply. I wasn't sure since the water (and LR) was from an established tank if the cycling process was already done? Although the crushed coral, for the bottom of the tank, is from a bag. Was your water from an established tank? About the corals. I would eventually like to venture into coral keeping. Any 'hardy' types of coral for a new guy?

- Shadoe

Get rid of the crushed coral and get put 1" of sand in the bottome (Arga-Live is good). Search this board for "crushed coral" and you'll find that it's not an accepted subtrate for a reef aquarium. Your LFS person is a LFS person. Always double check what they tell you.

Thanks Natrate,

I did as you said and searched on Crushed Corals. I didn't realize how big a problem that can be. Now that takes me to yet another question. :mellow: Can I put the live sand on top of my crushed coral? The reason I ask is I have already put the crushed coral in my tank. If I do remove it, and add the sand, will this affect the water quality at all? I do agree sand is much more natural than crushed coral.