SaltCritters.com

Help Nitrate really high!

BennettOZ

Hey everyone, I am a little new to the Nano reef and I have a few quick questions.

I do a test every three days and a 10% water change every Sunday. On sunday my tank looked and tested prefect. so I was happy. tanks looks awesome also..

A little tank History:

5 Gallon Hex Eclipse ( 3 stage filer)

Set up 5 weeks ago.

Live rock added 3 weeks ago

Inverts added 2 weeks ago. {(Bubble Anenome) spelling! }Coral banded Shrip, and Blue legged Crab, Little Sea hermit crab.

Feather Duster added 2/11/6

The PH of the tank is always stable at 8.4

Ammonia is right at 0.0 - 0.1

Todays Tests: 2/14/06

Nitrite is at 0.02ish

NITRATE Low range 30ish/ High Range 150ish....

What should I do about my Nitrate?

I am also getting a Funny looking Brownish spot on my glass....

post-18651-1139949854_thumb.jpg

post-18651-1139949731_thumb.jpg

post-18651-1139949758_thumb.jpg

Your tank is still cycling and you added livestock, which increased the organic waste load load to the tank, and it's going to take a little time to catch up. Do small, 10 to 20 % water changes and give it some time, you should be OK

Once a week is what I would recommend. You are going to have to let it continue to cycle and if you do them too often you will never get the numbers right. Don't be suprised if anything dies though, your tank has a long way to go and the feather duster, shrimp and bubble really do not stand a chance wit those numbers, especially if just one thing dies because your ammonia will go up like a rocket. Not trying to be a downer but realisticly that livestock has little chance with such a young tank. Feather duster alone is a filter feeder and your tank will have little for it to eat, besides the water params.

Also, you have a bio wheel on that filter. That is a nitrate factory on its own. Live rock is a filter, you don't need a wheel or and filter media actually.

I'd do water changes, a lot until it's down...