inTank Media Baskets

need some help with nitrates!

mcarr3

My tank has been up for about six months now and my nitrates are climbing. I originally let it cycle for about 5 weeks with 6 lbs of live rock, and about a 1.5 inch live sand bed. I was very patient and careful to get my water levels perfect before I put anything in. It is an eclipse 12 with the stock filter. I added a small percula clown and a bengai cardinal. I slowly added 4 hermit crabs, 4 margarita snails, and a emerald crab. I have done 25% water changes about once a week. I recently changed the stock lighting to the current usa sunpac 1x40w and have added a button polyp, two small mushrooms, and a pulsing xenia. Since then my nitrates have gone sky high (around 80). I bought the current USA fission skimmer, removed the bio wheel from the stock filter,reduced my feedings, and changed the water 4 times in the last two weeks with distilled water but cannot get the nitrates below 40. I am a starving grad student and dont have a lot of money so i was wondering if there is anything that i could do without trashing my stock filter and spending 150-200$ on a skimmer. I am scarred to put more live rock in because i dont want to start another cycle and make things worse. The fish, corals and inverts all are very active and appear fine but I know that the nitrates have to come down. I am sorry for the length of this entry but i wanted to explain everything. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Is there anyway for you to place some Chaeto? That stuff is very good. I had the same issue and it went from sky high levels to 0 in a matter of a week or two. I would add something like an AquaClear filter remove all the crap that comes in there and put some Chaeto. This is what we call a fuge. You will need a light on top of that too. You can do a search on Fuges and it will explain a bit better. Hope this helps.