Innovative Marine Aquariums

Ammonia

triskel1

I have a 24G JBJ with 20+ lbs of LR and the same in LS. The tank has been running since the end of December. All my Parameters have been good except the Nitrates. they were high according to my tests. I have the Kardon Powder Reagents and they were indicating high nitrates and everything else was at 0... I brought a sample of water to my LFS and they said that my nitrates were 0 but i had a slight amount of ammonia. I bought a different test with drops and the readings match the LFS. I have 5.0 of nitrates and .25 of ammonia... I currently have a clean up crew in the tank with a damsel, two small gobies and a firefish. Is my ammonia up b/c of a too high bio-load. Is that too many fish?

How can i fix this? Would a water change fix the ammonia at all? Or does the bacteria have to build up again? I'm new to this so i want to be sure. I don;t want to be irresponible and have anything dieing on me. By the way all the fish and cleaning crew including a cleaner shrimp seem to be thriving in the tank!!! Nothing seems stressed....

Adding inverts put stress on the bio-load? can anyone confirm that or enlighten me on that?

Sea_Of_Treachery

your not over your bioload, 4 fish is about the max. id do a big water change, that should help, how often are you doing w/c's? adding inverts can take up some space, not much but they do, i mean they do produce waste

your not over your bioload, 4 fish is about the max. id do a big water change, that should help, how often are you doing w/c's? adding inverts can take up some space, not much but they do, i mean they do produce waste