Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Home water filters....any help at all?

SaltyMember

SaltyMember

If I am not able to get RO/DI water prior to my tank setup...could using the PURE brand water filter I have on the kitchen tap help?  I realize that it would not be the quality of RO/DI water, but I figure it has to be better than straight tap water.  I realize this may be a naive question, but I am new to the hobby and would like to get some opinions on this.  I plan to find a place to buy RO/DI water for my eventual weekly water changes.

second2n0ne

If you are cycling your tank for the first time, it is extremely important you start with pristine water.  This will ensure minimal cyano outbreaks and ease the "new tank syndrome".  IMO, PURE filters will not meet these pristine requirements.  At the least, purchase distilled water or obtain water from the dispensers at your local supermarket.

Nishant3789

the PURE water filters only filter out the bacteria, thats what the carbon is for, and thats why we dont use it in our tanks, well mostly...its not much better really than tap water. hth

nishant

Smokey Joe

I agree ro/di water would be ideal.  If it's unavailable to you however, go ahead and use your filter.  Many people have had success with unfiltered tap water, so unless the water in your area is particuarly bad I don't see why you shouldn't give it a shot.

quiksilver5768

I recommend going to your local supermarket and purchasing distilled water. Its the best water to start a tank with since it is the purest. Later on after your tank is set up, if you still dont have an RO filter...then most supermarkets have the glacier or some other type of machine to purchase RO/DI water from. Start with distilled or atleast get some RO/De-ionized water from the machines....

SaltyMember