Top Shelf Aquatics

coralgirl's 37g cube

coralgirl365

Hello all, well now that I have finally gotten some live rock in my new 37 cube I thought I would start up a photo journal of my own! I know there isn't much to see yet but hopefully as time goes on it will get more interesting :)

I have had freshwater tanks for almost 3 years but this is my first try at saltwater so feel free to make any suggestions! here goes:

37 gallon Oceanic "cube"

Outer Orbit lights (150W HQI, 2x65W dual actinic, 4 LEDs)

AquaC Remora skimmer

27 lbs base rock from reeferrocks.com

15 lbs live rock from premium aquatics

Crushed coral substrate (switching to aragamax sand this week)

Reef Crystals at 1.025

1 hermit and 6 assorted snails (more ordered)

Full tank shot before adding LR

P1010053.jpg

Another:

P1010052.jpg

DIY canopy I made to go around my Outer Orbit lights:

canopy.jpg

Right now my tank is still cycling (Ammonia .25) and is having an algae bloom :(

Tank as of yesterday, 2 weeks after adding live rock:

algae1.jpg

Closeup of one rock with really bad algae, (the picture doesn't do justice to how gross it really looks):

algae5.jpg

I'll post more pics after I switch the substrate and make other progressions :D

ok that was huge.. does anyone know how to resize images? :huh:

Holymoly. That is HUGE.

Stick it into photoshop and use 'image size' or use photobucket to store the images.

Send it to me if all else fails.

any more pics of this custom canopy that is holding your lighting? I would love tons of them :)

It isn't holding the lighting, just kind of making a frame around it to make it more esthetically pleasing. I will post some more pics soon and if you want me to take any specific pics after that I can do that too :) It's really pretty ghetto, I made it myself for about 20 bucks, but it does the job it really is an improvement over just the lights standing on the tank.

It looks great!