Pod Your Reef

We've got a newbie (bogie) at 12'o clock (That needs alot of help)

2new

ALL RIGHT, TO TELL YOU THE TRUTH I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE WHAT-SO-EVER WITH SALT-WATER AQUARIUMS. (BESIDES FRESH WATER) A LARGE SALTWATER AQUARIUM IS TO MUCH FOR ME. ALL I WANT IS YOUR OPINIONS/ADVICE OR LIST OF THINGS I NEED FOR A 12GAL BOWFRONT(HAVEN'T GOTTEN IT YET BUT LOOKING TO IT) WHAT WOULD BE THE AVERAGE NANO AQUARIUM TO COST UNDER OR AROUND $100 ?

IF SOMEONE COULD SAVE ME A TRIP TO MY LFS?:P

ANY INPUT WOULD BE HIGHLY APPRECIATED:)

under $100? ghetto reef but here goes: get a 5-1/2 gal. tank, a hagen mini HOB, 2~3 Galaxy Lights, heater, bag o' sand, and a combo test kit. don't forget the salt! :P

that should leave you around $20 for livestock. it won't be that pretty but it's technically a nano.

you want a pretty wife? well the same rules also applies for reefs. X)

Thermometer, hydrometer, live rock, etc.....

You really should save more money to do this in my opinion. You are cutting yourself short here my limiting yourself to a hundered bucks and I think with no experience at all and not being able to diagnose problems on your own yet that last thing you need to be doing is taking budget shortcuts on setup. I don't mean to be harsh but the reality is that if something goes wrong the chance of you getting disapointed and giving up the hobby is a likely result. I/we don't want that to happen.

I think you'd need a good $200 to atleast get going in the right direction.

That tank itself is going to cost you at least$60!!!

Cameron

Starting from scratch, I'd say $200 is a good minimum.

I managed to start a nano for under a hundred bucks...but ONLY because I got a bunch of stuff for free (lots of well-established live sand, some live rock, some crabs and snails) and had other stuff on hand already (tank, filter, heater, hydrometer).