ReefCleaners.org

Pump in Chamber 1 or Cassette Mod....?

Enrique

Hi everyone, I'm new to the hobby (started on May 4, 2005)and would like some advice from any or all of you. I have a 12DX with stock lighting, 15lbs of LR, 5lbs.LS,1 Maroon Clownfish, a cleaner shrimp, various snails (total of 8), 2 Hermits, 2 Mussels (which I picked up from the ocean shore), and 1 sea cucumber. No corals yet. My tank temps really fly high as ambients here are in the high 80's and sometimes in the low 90's but thats without the AC on. But since I purchased the ICA from Chris (Thank you...such tremendous support), I am able to keep my tank between 78.5 to 79.8, hurrah!!!

Anyway, I was wondering, which mod would be better, the cassette mod or the pump in chamber 1 mod? I was hesitant in putting 2 pumps in my tank due to the temp problems but not anymore thanks to my ICA. But at the moment I am using the cassette mod. But I have 2 pumps ready for the other mod. Micro-Jet 450 and a Mini-Jet 404.

This would probably be more of a personal preference answer but I really would like your opinions and I would probably choose the majority vote. I know most of you have been very successful in your tank set-ups and would like to achieve the same.

Thank you in advance.

I'd stick with the cassette mod. Both mine and my gf's cubes have the cassette mod, a pump in the last chamber, and 2 80gph powerheads facing each other on the sides of the cube. I like the cassette mod because it keeps the surface of the water nice and clear.

stoney waters

You can still do both. Just drill a hole under your cassette mod the same diameter as 1/2" pvc. Then insert a 1" long piece half way through and seal with pcv cement. It is very similar to how the right side is done from the factory.

burtbollinger

I use the cassette mod...

then, I bought a Powersweep and put it inside the tank. Its just easier that way :)