ReefCleaners.org

nano circulation

mtnbiker

I have a nano 24g dx with several pounds of live rock, assorted soft corals, 2 damsles, and a goby. The tank has been active for about a month and is doing pretty well so far. I've read through the threads on this great site, and am impressed with what you guys have done with your cubes -- especially some of the mods. I personally find the circulation of the cube a little weak, and am wondering if anyone has added an additional powerhead (like an AquaClear 20 or similar) to move the current better for the reef. Any mods to the stock powerhead or is it advised to add another? Thanks in advance.

OK, thanks. But I'm not so hip yet on the nano lingo. When you say chamber #1, you mean where the sponge is, right? And by #3, that's where the stock pump is? So it sounds like you've replaced the stock pump with a rio, and also added another one by removing the sponge in #1 and dropping the rio in the bottom? Sorry, but I'm a nano newbie (but a quick learner). Thanks for the reply.

No, allot of guys place a powerhead behind the grate blowing out. I myslef after installing the Surface Skimmer thinks that's a waist of time since I feel the surface skimmer is more effective than having the extra powerhead behind the grate.:) You can always just use a more powerfull pump in chamber 3 and then get a y adapter so you can run two nozzles for more flow.

Thx. I'll look into the skimmer, but may use the Y-adapter technique you mentioned in chamber #3. Actually saw a pump like that on one of the nano customs sites or marine depot...

My $2.20 Surface Skimmmer I made from a box with a lid and hinges on it that was all cut off with my dremel. I got it at The Container Store.:) It was a Jewel Case to start off with!

63.jpg

burtbollinger

I just added a cheapo powersweep inside the tank underneath the intake on the left side...It seems to be working well, and it moves @ 160 GPH, that plus the stock 290 seems fine.