ReefCleaners.org

HELP!!Cooling Nano Cube deluxe 12 g

Izzue

Any suggestions or ideas how to cool a Nano 12g deluxe. Ive been looking at the Iceprobe but cant figure where or how to install. Ive seen the thread where someone modified the Iceprobe with smaller heat sink, but I live in Mississippi where the summers are hot and cost a fortune to cool my home down ( no trees-- right in the sun and keep temp in house 78 to 80) and this mode would tend to lose the efficeince of the Iceprobe. Im new to all this and doing research right now-- My lps offered to drill a hole to install but we dont know if the glass could be drilled (tempered glass???)on the side of cube close to where the water return is. We even kicked around drilling the bottom of filtration unit on return side, then cutting hole in stand for iceprobe to set down in. ONly problem with that is then cutting the back of the stand for air circulation. Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated. I need to fiqure the cooling part before I can get started :) Thanks Izzue

artarmon42

If you don't mind the look, you could simply open the front hood and blow a (small) fan at the water. If you d a search back to the last few summers, that's what most people did.

If you're handy, you could try installing a rear vent/fan which works as above, but hides the fan so that you retain the stock look (from the front).

Or you could try Nanocustoms ICA. As long as you can disipate the heat generated by the Peltier it should cool your tank the best.

with house temp @ 78-80 i think your going have to no option but to get a chiller for your tank. i have my condo at 68. and i still fight heat issues on the nc. i open the lid as artman has mentioned and that seems to work. but with yoru hight house temps i dont think the lid will work.

i agree with artman that your best option is prob with nanocustoms chiller unit.

Thanks for the replies