Cultivated Reef

New to Nano

BlondeNaso1

BlondeNaso1

Hi,

I was refered to this site by someone on another board.  I am new to Nano reefs.  I have a 55 reef, but wanted some advice while setting up a new tank.

I just set up a 20gal with an Aquaclear Mini filter, Maxijet 400 PH, one 175watt 12000K metal halide, 20# LS, and just 1 piece (about 4lbs.) of LR.  I plan on getting about 20 more lbs, of LR this weekend.  I set it up on Monday and have a pretty good kick of NH4 going, no trites or trates yet.  I have been topping off by dripping with Kalk.  I just want some general advice about nano reefs.  I heard that water changes are extremely important, but other then that I am clueless.  Thanks for all the help.

really....for an expierienced reefer as you are...just watch your levels and do water changes once a week. that is all you really need to do. you already have sufficient lighting. one word of advice...if you notice something beginning to die..watch it closely because if it dies it can overload your tank and cause it to crash. also dont run your tank with carbon in the filter. i would also recommend putting another ph in for circulation. is the tank a tall or long? also depending on how you like your tanks to look i wold maybe recommend adding more than 20lbs. in a 20 i would think more liek 30-40 pound(depending on rock density) would be great. this is personal opinion though.

i m with slo on this one. you might need more than just 20 lbs of LR. you might also want to invest in a heater for the tank. and a fan too if the MH is in a canopy.

Guest AbSoluTc

I disagree with the above.  I don't think you need more than 20lbs of live rock.  If it is a 20l that would take up a lot of precious space.  Not to mention, your building a reef with corals and fish.  Not a tank with  fish and live rock as the main attraction.  

Than again, do it to your taste.

BlondeNaso1