Innovative Marine Aquariums

Offical Starfish (Fromia) Thread

bobioden

I have always wanted a small starfish. I have been researching them for the past 2 years and finally decided to take the plunge. The Fromia I wanted was the Fromia Milleporella from Bali. I bouight one locally on 2/15/05. I did a 3 hour drip acclimation, and he is doing fine so far. Their diet as best as I can find is small Microalgae film with grows on the LR and tank glass. They also love sponges, which my tank has in abunbance.

Here is a little bit about them:

The Red Sea Star, or Red Starfish, of the genus Fromia may be various shades of red. It has multiple black pores (dots) on its surface. The tips of the arms are the same or a lighter color than the rest of the arm, differentiating it from Fromia indica.

It generally lives alone, but if the aquarium is large enough to support more than one, it will tolerate others of its own species. It requires a mature tank with algae and is generally fairly self-sufficient in the aquarium, finding enough micro-organisms and detritus to scavenge if live rock is present. It is diurnal.

The Red Sea Star is very intolerant of sudden changes in oxygen levels, salinity and pH of the water, and cannot tolerate copper-based medications. The drip acclimation method is highly recommended for all Sea Stars due to their intolerability to changes in water chemistry. It should never be exposed to air while handling.

The Red Sea Star is extremely difficult to breed in an aquarium, with no distinguishing characteristics to help differentiate it from its mate.

If there is insufficient algae growth in the aquarium, the diet should be supplemented with flaked foods, and small pieces of fish or mussel.

I am hoping others who have a Fromia will post and share pics and experiences.

B)

Bob

Originally posted by B16A2NR

Good luck, Mine self destructed for no reason one day. Still have a nice green linkia though. I like your last photo.