Innovative Marine Aquariums

HughJas's 40G Breeder Odyssey

HughJas

After what seems like an eon of lurking on this site. I've decided to upgrade the old Eclipse 12 and embark on a 40 breeder.

I've read and researched for months. I've checked specs. I've ogled over the tanks of others (I'm looking at you Tigahboy, Uchiha, Travis, and others). I even flipped a coin a couple times for those tough decisions.

Even with all that there's still trepidation with getting this guy right the first time. My idea is to make this project as visible as possible so you guys can slap me before I make that wrong turn and wind up with the 40G Money Pit.

Here's what I plan.

- 40G AGA Breeder

- Custom Stand/Canopy

- 250W MH with some sort of PC supplementation (details TBD)

- Sump/Refugium (The jury is still out on this one, haven't made a decision)

- Closed Loop SCWD

- more

- more

- more

But, first things first. I need to build the stand and canopy. I've been woodworking for about 8 years and have built a lot of the furniture in our house so I've got the tools. I want to make the stand look as "architectural" as possible to blend in with the other furniture we have.

I plan on building a pine 2x4 base that will be wrapped in 1/2 oak plywood (3/4 on the top) and clad in 1/2 solid red oak to create a faux frame and panel look. The canopy will be 1/2 red oak plywood with the same cladding.

Stain will be a mahogany colored aniline dye stain (I don't like pigment stains on open pored oak).

But enough of that - on to the pictures! I finished the 2x4 frame tonight and will begin covering soon. I hope to have everything finished in a week or two.

Feel free offer up suggestions!

• Replies 123
  • Created
  • Last Reply