Coral Vue Hydros

After so long..finally

tiepilot68

A year ago I was in Hawaii with my wife for our 10th aniversary. We visited the Waikiki Aquarium, took a submarine tour of some man made reefs, and snorkled. The absolute beauty of the marine life really struck a cord with me, and it awakened a long dormant desire, to create a thriving marine ecosystem in my home.

Well, I'm not one to rush into things, well most thing, especially things that involve the lives of other creatures. I didn't rush home, grab the wallet and spend spend spend...(ok..being broke after a vacation in Hawaii helped quell the spending too)

I sought out information.

I studied and read and eventually found this forum. And it turns out that, hey you crazy bunch - o - reefers really know what the heck your talkin about! (I mean that in the BEST possible way..HONEST!) :)

Through many searches, and many months of lurking I've learned quite a bit. More than I thought I could!

I've posted a few times...newbie questions of course, before I learned the real value of that wonderful Search Button.

I've piped in on a few threads my opinions and comments, humbly of course...the beginning of wisdom is to understand that DANG I've got alot more to learn!

But after all this time I've finally bought and built, (where needed) everything I need (for now) to dive into this hobby...well..some would say money sink, lifestyle, religion, etc etc...

A month or so ago I picked up a nice 20L tank...product of learning..talls can be set up beautifuly!, but with the lights I know I am getting to stay within my budget, a tank with a 30"x12"x12" profile will do much better than a deep, not to mention the great oxygen exchange with that much water surface area.

After that I hopped in the ole pickup, and drove down to the local Home Depot, where I purchased the lumber and various odds and ends I would need for a custom Stand and Hood.