inTank Media Baskets

rbta needs light!

Rita Sullivan

Rita Sullivan

I have the nanocube and my lfs store told me that would be enough light for a rbta! Now I find that I am starving my poor rbta to death. I can't stand it! Need to get more light on my nanocube. Please somebody tell me how to get enough light for the rbta. I'm not an electrician, I don't know the first thing about electricity other than being able to turn on a light switch. Chris at nanocustoms.com said that even the DX hood might not be enough light. Someone please give me some advice. Want to keep my poor rbta and want it to do well and be happy. thanks in advance

Thats what I hate about LFS. THey will tell you anything to sell their product, knowing if it dies, you'll still come back.. Its not right..

Thank god I got the reverse, a LFS that told me the truth, and that not more than zoos, shrooms can be in the original nanocube..

Chris

There's no "easy" answer/solution I can provide here. With my "anti-nanocube" sentiments aside and w/o going into detail about why I don't like them (one of which is for this problem you see here), all I can suggest is one of 2 options:

1) Get rid of the hood and stock lights...Buy a Metal Halide Pendant w/ HQI Double Ended bulb (either 20K or 10K). Maybe a 75w. Maybe VHO's could work too, but I don't have any experience w/ them. Leave open top and have it suspended above the tank.

2) Give it back to LFS.

Another thing that I would suggest if you plan to keep him is to upgrade your tank to something a bit larger. Lighting and feeding is just one factor, water stability is another. Everything needs to be stable and free of any ammonia, nitrites, etc. Much harder to achieve in smaller tanks where there will be constant fluctuations by just a small presence of fish waste or the effects of evaporation.