ReefCleaners.org

First time nano reefer has some questions

Mikev727

Hello all,

i just had a few questions as this is my first time doing a nano i've done bigger tanks but nothing this small before so just a few questions

Ok well the tank is a 2g eclipse system now should i remove the biowheel on this? i've heard they can be nitrate factories? the tank currently has 1 7/8 pounds of live rock in it right now

What would be a good way to cycle this lil system?

Does the same 6-8 week cycle period still apply or is it shorter for the small volume of water?

Thanks in advance!

Let's start with the bio-wheel... It can only produce 'trates if ammonia is present (you know the cycle). In a 2 gallon I doubt that you are going to be over stocking with fish, and producing a ton on ammonia... Thus, I also doubt that you will have problems with the bio-wheel ;). -Short answer, it will make a nice addition to your tank, and protect you in case on an ammonia spike (which in my opinion could spell death for such a small system). I would do a 1"+ sand bed with the finest grade sand you can get ahold of (should look like dust, it is actually being called "mud"). What kind of lighting are you running? If it is just a regular normal output bulb, I would suggest picking up a 13W PC with a 50/50 bulb (you can find them for very little $).

The same cycle will apply, and as you know sometimes they go quickly sometimes they will take a little over 6 weeks... it all depends. A good quality sand and rock will help out.

If you don't mind me asking what did you pay for the eclipse 2, and where did you get it? -Thanks

Thanks for the help!

Ok soo how do i go about cycling it? i mean i have to put some thing in there to start the cycle right? is the LR i have in there going to be enough? i brought it home in a bucket of water and added it directly to the tank and tossed the water soo im not sure how much die off if any there was