Innovative Marine Aquariums

Dave's 90 Gallon Upgrade, a WV Reef Tank

Dave21

I've never done this before but thought it would be fun to journal my new tank upgrade and share my experience with the tank, products and design as I go along. I got into the hobby about a year and half ago with a 29 gallon and have learned a lot along the way. My family and I have really enjoyed the first tank and we decided to upgrade. My first post will be a little lengthy because I'm catching up to where I'm at now. I've been trying to make this a budget friendly tank so have tried to utilize used items, DIY, and budget friendly products. I did splurge on a few items for added security and convenience such as an Ink Bird WiFi Temperature Controller, ATO, and water level sensor.

So I started with an older 90 gallon tank with homemade stand I found on Facebook Marketplace. tank.PNG.01647a973ff5459562b424a473790b8d.PNG

I've been successful with my 29 gallon using a Tidal HOB filter but for this build decided I wanted to try a sump. Due to the dimensions of the stand I had limited options for sump size. And again since I'm trying to keep this build budget friendly, I decided to build my own sump. A 20 gallon long turned out to be the biggest I could fit. I was able to get a tank for $25 on sale from a LFS and picked up one of the generic DIY sump kits on eBay. I layed out the sump to have a 15inch refugium space in the middle and left enough space (though tight) in the first chamber to fit a Bubble Matus Z-7 space saving skimmer if I want to add a skimmer down the road.

SUMP1.thumb.PNG.9af673c45493d63ad9a84613766d92a1.PNG