Coral Vue Hydros

First Timer IM 15 AIO Cube

crestier18

Hello everyone!

I'm officially starting my first reef tank. I just got back from my honeymoon in the Caribbean and the reefs there were amazing! This will be on my desk for me to watch while I'm studying for my doctorate program.

For equipment, I have:

-IM 15 gallon AIO cube

-IM lid

-Stock pump and filter sock (considering changing to a media basket instead)

-Dry rock and access to live rock when I'm ready for it

I have ordered but need to receive:

-NooPsyche K7 Mini light

-RO system

-hygger 100w heater with temperature probe

-Instant Ocean salt

-Live sand

Equipment I am planning to get:

ATO with 5 gallon bucket reservoir

Possible thoughts for stocking:

-2 ocellaris clowns

-some number of sexy shrimp

-CUC

-yellow banded possum wrasse if the tank is big enough or the clowns don't work out

-various softie and LPS corals

Is there any other equipment that is recommended? I've read protein skimmers are hit or miss on small tanks like this.

This is my scape ATM. I'm actually pretty happy with it, but I feel it may be too short? I'm planning to glue it together and take it out to put sand underneath. Any other thoughts about it?

Thank you!

IMG_6172.jpg

• Like 2

Make sure you put your rockwork in first and then put sand. If you put the rocks on top of the sand you run the risk of the sand shifting underneath resulting in a rock collapse. Otherwise I really like the rockwork, I think it’s going to look great with some nice corals on top and sides!

• Like 1
The Rainy Day Aquarium

I’m a big fan of Noo-Psyche lights.

As for the skimmer, IMO they are only useful if you are running a high octane, high energy tank, aka lots of feeding/heavy in, heavy out kind of thing. If you are on top of your water changes and conscientious about how much you are feeding your fish and corals then it’s something you don’t need running on a nano.

It all sounds like you’re on the right track though, good luck!