Pod Your Reef

Yes I know it’s been asked a million times. (Tank cycling)

Adamsjus002

Hello! I’m new to the hobby. I’m in the process of cycling a 29 gallon tank. Have live rock, dry rock, live sand. And by recommendation used Fritz Turbostart 900. But I’m confused. added ammonia to get things going. I’ve been testing the last five days. As of today ammonia is present and between .25-.5ppm. 5-10ppm of nitrate is present. But I never saw any nitrite. I need guidance. Am I doing something wrong? I’m sure this question has been asked a million times. I just don’t want to screw anything up.

Seems to me like you're on the right track.  I'm actually just about through cycling my 14, never saw any nitrites myself (very small amounts if any).

I also had used bottle-bac to start..no LR though.    

You also mentioned you had some LR added to the tank.  What was the sourced from an established system?

If anything, it should be loaded with bacteria ready to do their thing.  

Have you continued to add any ammonia to the tank?  Or was it just added once?

Last question, what is your water source? 

Regardless - if there's no livestock, I wouldn't worry too much.  Let the tank do it's thing.  

Live rock is a skip cycle for the whole setup, even if it's not 100% of your rock

Your cycle is best determined from a full tank picture, not the readings from non digital test kits

Post full tank picture for the win, I bet you're done on day one and the bottle bac was a wasted, unneeded purchase but also not harmful to add... just unneeded. Let's see how much of the scape is skip cycle live rock. 

Any use of fritz in any system cycled you in 48 hours, you're multiply- cycled and done but I was just curious how much live rock was used. Your reported ammonia levels are what fully stocked reefs run at, they don't hit zero. You're done but let's see the pic