Cultivated Reef

Bleach Curing

Dave21

Hey everyone. I got a good deal on some used dead rock and after looking into it I decided to bleach cure it. This is my first time cleaning dead rock so I just want to see if it's safe to use. 

I soaked it in diluted bleach water for a little over a week and it is much cleaner but all the skeletons from LPS and sps on the rock are still on the rocks an are nearly pure white. I don't see why this would hurt but just want to get an opinion from someone who has used this method before. 

I sprayed off the rocks and am going to soak them in clean water with water treatment for a day or so and leave them out to completely dry for a week or so before building the aquascape. 

• Like 1
2 hours ago, Dave21 said:

Hey everyone. I got a good deal on some used dead rock and after looking into it I decided to bleach cure it. This is my first time cleaning dead rock so I just want to see if it's safe to use. 

I soaked it in diluted bleach water for a little over a week and it is much cleaner but all the skeletons from LPS and sps on the rock are still on the rocks an are nearly pure white. I don't see why this would hurt but just want to get an opinion from someone who has used this method before. 

I sprayed off the rocks and am going to soak them in clean water with water treatment for a day or so and leave them out to completely dry for a week or so before building the aquascape. 

If the rock no longer smells like bleach, then it's OK to use.  Very likely even if it smells like bleach it would be OK.....once re-dissolved in a few dozen gallons of saltwater, it would become insignificant.

FYI...

If you go back and read saltwater tank guidance from the 1980's and before, you'd get to know all about bleaching rock.   This was THE WAY to decorate a tank before the value of live rock was discovered (and later forgotten).