ReefCleaners.org

All my parameters are good haha

AiredaleReef

AiredaleReef

Hi there, 

Another noob here. In reading through a lot of threads and topics, I see many comments that state "but my parameters are good". This is usually followed by someone commenting asking to list their actual Parameters. 

Can someone breakdown what I should be testing for, as well as the frequency? I would love to see what I should be measuring against what the goal or standard is we are trying to achieve. 

For what it is worth, my current tank is an 8g reef tank. Hoping to keep mostly softies, and some inverts. Currently using 15 pounds of the CaribSea sand, as well as two large life rock pieces (the painted purple ones hahah). I set up the tank last Friday, and added a bottle of Bio Spira on Tuesday, as I realized I needed some bacteria to start the cycle process? 

Please feel free to point my in any directions or suggest a new hobby if I am way out in left field. 

Much appreciate the future advice! 

• Like 1

Welcome to Nano-Reef.com.

Before adding any livestock, I would normally continue with the fishless cycling method:

• use ammonium chloride to dose your tank to 2ppm of ammonia
  • wait until ammonia drops to 0.25ppm
  • repeat until your tank can process 2ppm of ammonia to 0.25ppm within 24 hours

This will build up your biofilter, making it ready to add livestock.  Although without any fish (and since you've already dosed BIO-Spira), building up the biofilter probably isn't necessary.

For a soft coral reef tank, you primarily want to test for phosphate and nitrate.  A good range would be 0.05 to 0.10 ppm of phosphate and 5 to 10ppm of nitrate.  Higher values being preferable to lower levels.  With softies, you typically don't need to worry about alkalinity, calcium, or magnesium.

• Agree 2
AiredaleReef