SaltCritters.com

New Royal Gramma evicted Firefish

4d-Rock

Hey all,

I’m new to the hobby and I have a two month old Fluval Evo 12.5. 

I had it cycling the first month before adding my first fish, a purple Firefish.  A bit timid to start but things went well and it found a nice cave under one of the rocks which had a front and back entrance, pretty sweet digs.  

Now after getting comfy for a month, we had a trip into the city and picked up our second fish, a Royal Gramma.  I knew it could be semi-aggressive but mostly the consensus in my research is that they should do ok together.  I also got one that is half the size of the Firefish to hopefully deter aggression.

After acclimation last night it hid against a rock and a wall which was to be expected, but coming home from work today I find that the Royal Gramma has evicted the Firefish from his cave and is opening its mouth wide or nipping at anything that comes close.  

Both are fine during feeding tonight but the gramma is back in the cave and the Firefish is now staying out and cruising around.  I’m not upset about seeing it more, but should I be worried about it getting stressed out now that it’s forced into the open? Or worried about their interactions at all in general?

There is plenty of rock so maybe it’ll find a new home?

Sad for our Firefish though 😞 

Thanks

C12D94AA-1DCF-42B7-A875-5B110504130F.thumb.jpeg.65b1be23a191f66cc2c34cbede8fa5ca.jpeg

D0868300-48C3-42E8-ACE0-7D25CBB5E732.thumb.jpeg.bb59b980047700e291a4ba087acd3f62.jpeg

My guess is that it's a heirarchy of aggression.  The Gramma will likely defend the cave he's claimed but leave the firefish alone everywhere else.  The firefish will have to dig another hole to hide in.

Grammas bark they don't bite

2559473909_80b887e1dd.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

• Agree 1
  • Thanks 1

Thanks @Jakesaw

kind of unfortunate but I guess that’s nature right?