Innovative Marine Aquariums

Advice needed

1st reef

Been running for 7 months and I can't get a break. First was the Dino issue.

Now I have this. I got rid of dinos by increasing phosphates to .1

Nitrates are always at or below 5ppm

I've tried water changes 2x a week, 1x a week , every 2vweeks... 

1 mushroom coral died, hammers disappeared . Duncan opening up but not fully. Gsp is thriving but it's taking over the green cabbage. (I'll have to relocate)

Any advice?

20220428_161258.jpg

20220428_161250.jpg

Kindanewtothis
3 minutes ago, 1st reef said:

I just checked phosphates and they're at zero.

Ok I'm a noob but your nitrate below 5 do not require water change. What are you others tests results? Alkalinity? I'm sure someone could weigh in with more tests results.

less than bread

Yes more parameters would help. Alkalinity, calcium, magnesium, ph.

What salt do you use? Do you use RODI water to mix your salt? What temperature are you running at? What does your filtration look like? What kind of light do you have over the tank?

your GSP look great!  They are one of my favorites.  They do tend to take over so they are usually given their own rock away from other rock they can spread too. Along with the other great ?s everyone listed I would only ask what your light schedule looks like (how long are they on for?).

Don't get discouraged.  All tanks have ups and downs.

Alk is at 8.7 9.0, dosing phosphates to bring them above zero (targeting approx 0.1) nitrates are at 5ppm or slightly under. Rocks have brown hair algae. 3 hermits aren't enough to clean them up. Will add 3 more.

I added 6 more hermits and 6 other snails. Can't remember the type.

Brushed the hair algae off the gsp.

Will start dosing with aqua forest pro bio s. As long as the nitrates remain at 5ppm, I won't do any water changes. Only top offs. I have the 5 gallon Evo stock pump.  Will it help if I upgrade?

Kindanewtothis
11 hours ago, 1st reef said: