Pod Your Reef

Bubble Coral Wont Inflate

Dave21

So I added a bubble coral that I picked up at my LFS. It's be in the tank for a week now and will not fully inflate. 

Do they just take a while to adjust or should I try moving it to a lower flow area. The flow is fairly low in the area but I can see the semi inflated bubbles shake a bit in the current. 

20220121_201440.jpg

I have no experience with Bubble corals, but it's a LPS coral and seems like it should be easy to keep.  Do you have any other LPS corals in your aquarium that are doing well? 

Have you been doing regular water changes to keep the calcium / magnesium up?  I see your GSP is out, so you have nitrates / phos in the water I presume.

https://aquariumstoredepot.com/blogs/news/bubble-coral-care

• Thanks 1

Yea I have a candy cane that is doing good and I added a flower pot coral the same day I added this and it's doing good and fully opening. 

I have a 29 gallon tank and typically do a 5 gallon change once a week or every other week at most (I typically only go two weeks if my nitrates are 5 when I do my weekly tests). 

Nitrates and phosphates, calcium, alkalinity are all good. I do not have a magnesium test kit, but since my other LPSs are good I dont suspect it's too low. 

And thanks for the link I'll give it a read.

burtbollinger

in experience all you can do is wait...especially if alk is fine and phosphates are something you are tracking. 

keep doing things as normal, placement looks fine where it's at.  Just be patient.  resist temptation to keep moving it. 

I have always avoided bubble corals, as I've found them troublesome in my limited experience.  they have never liked my tanks.  sometimes if an LPS like that is damaged, it just tends to die SLOW and no amount of intervention helps...this has been my experience with bubble corals and wall hammers, and very occasionally with torches.  

• Like 2
12 minutes ago, burtbollinger said: