Cultivated Reef

Water Parameters

Kevin Buckley

Kevin Buckley

If anyone has any advice I would be very grateful. I've been running tank for 6 months and have added 3 corals around a month ago. torch, frogspawn and hammer. All frags. They don't seem to be doing well so i have dipped them in Lugols solution while doing a water change today. Not too happy at the moment unsurprisingly. They seem to be shrinking from their skeletons. I have tested parameters after WC and this is what they say: Kh 9.6, Ca 500, Mg 1330, Po4 0.1 and No3 5ppm.
i have 2 baby Clowns and a Blenny fishwise, and a Cleaner, and Blood shrimps. i did have a couple of Hermits but they were neither blue or red legged and got too big so i removed them. I have 3 Trochus and 5 Bumblebee snails, with 2 Nassarius. Algae wise i am currently tackling Red Cyano but also have bubble green algae but i am not treating at the moment as concentrating on Cyano. Neither are particularly over run. Running Rowaphos in chamber. waiting to add Purigen when medication finishes. Thanks for looking.

Please post one or two pics of the tank and of the algae.  Also, what size is the tank and how is it being lit?

Don't stress the corals out any more than they are.....dipping is not good for them.

Your water tests don't look bad, but how stable are those numbers from day to day and week to week?  How low does your alkalinity get before you dose or do a water change to correct it?

Double check those bumblebee snails....I'm not sure they are 100% reef safe.  They are definitely not algae eaters.  I know they look nice.

Cyano isn't gong to hurt anything and will probably fizzle out on its own as the tank matures.  Just make sure you aren't overfeeding (ie wasting food in the tank), and make sure to use 0 tds water for your water source.

Bubble algae is actually pretty nice IMO if it isn't spreading....it comes and goes in most tanks without being a problem.