Innovative Marine Aquariums

Clown acting odd??

Kpatel28

Hello all, 

I'm new to the saltwater hobby and I've set up a 13.5 Evo tank. It's been up and running for a little over a week now. Today I introduced two clowns, a peppermint shrimp, and two hermit crabs. I've checked water parameters and everything seems alright. Everyone is settling in well except for one clown. I am slightly concerned about how it is swimming. It has been swimming vertically most of the time...almost like it is trying to reach the top of the tank. Not sure what is going on, so reaching out to the forum for some help. I've attached some pics and some videos I took (the last two I captured from my night vision camera). Hope someone can help! 

https://youtu.be/zjH4Ew3Wpv4

https://youtu.be/GKoeIKaZDVE

https://youtu.be/jkWu4EdI3yI

Screen Shot 2021-11-14 at 12.45.22 AM.png

4 hours ago, Kpatel28 said:

Hello all, 

I'm new to the saltwater hobby and I've set up a 13.5 Evo tank. It's been up and running for a little over a week now. Today I introduced two clowns, a peppermint shrimp, and two hermit crabs. I've checked water parameters and everything seems alright. Everyone is settling in well except for one clown. I am slightly concerned about how it is swimming. It has been swimming vertically most of the time...almost like it is trying to reach the top of the tank. Not sure what is going on, so reaching out to the forum for some help. I've attached some pics and some videos I took (the last two I captured from my night vision camera). Hope someone can help! 

Its gills do look unusually flared up, it could be breathing heavily. Personally I do not have much knowledge with fish ailments, maybe @Humblefish could chime in? 

• Like 1
4 hours ago, Kpatel28 said:

Hello all, 

I probably should have asked this before, but what are your water parameters? specifically ammonia.