Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Reuse Bio Block Or Start Over

SeaFurn

HI everyone - it's been a while.  I'm resetting my 45 gallon RFA tank.  It had become overrun with mermaids cup and I had been fighting a bad case of dinos for better than 10 months.  The tank had been running for over 2 years.  I moved 20 gallons of water from the 45, the 3 fish, and the biological filtration that was in the sump to a 20 gallon tank (bare bottom) for the time being. (I moved the RFAs to another tank.)  The bio filter consists of a piece of BRS dry rock and a Marine Pure Bio Block.   Once I gett the tank and sump cleaned up, I had been planning on simply starting the cycle over with a new block - maybe the Brightwell version this time - but now I'm reconsidering.  

It's interesting that there's been no sign of dinos in the 20 gallon tank since I moved everything into it. I was expecting it to show up on the rock or the block as there are literally 0 nutrients in the tank.   I know they are not gone and I know I'd be fooling myself to think that I'll be able to keep them out of the 45 once it's reset and I move the fish and RFAs back into it.  SOOOO - should I just move the bio block back to the sump and skip cycling a new block?  Would thoroughly rinsing it with clean salt water before moving it back make any difference?   Or just start over and let the tank cycle and run for a few months before moving the inhabitants back?

Dino is present in every aquarium. They just grow out of control when conditions favor it. 

Do you know what caused your dino? Was it low nutrients? 

Marine Pure block are advertised to 'reduce nitrates' - If it does indeed do that and your dino was caused by low nutrients then perhaps re-using it is not the best idea... but for different reasons. I personally never use them so I can't say how effective they are at reducing nitrates.