Top Shelf Aquatics

Red algae only on red Zoa's

RaymondNoodles

Did you recently buy that frag? It's possible there was a little bit of cyano on the frag when you got it and it's happy in your tank's conditions. If it isn't anywhere else, just pull the plug, clean off the cyano with a toothbrush, scoop out the couple teaspoons of sand with cyano on them and pop it back in. Make sure your nutrients are at reasonable levels and hopefully it'll be nothing. No reason to do anything else at this point.

RaymondNoodles

Sadly enough I've had that frag for 2 or 3 months. It's not happy. I got the green zoas at the same time and they have done much better. I haven't added any corals or livestock to the tank for a month and a half.

Thanks for the suggestions. I will do that this afternoon.

I have never checked phosphate, calcium or magnesium and don't have a test kit for such, just your basic Red Sea and API test kits. I am pretty new to the hobby. Do you recommend I buy a test kit for those nutrients? I use the Imaginarium pre-mixed water which supposedly has the necessary nutrients. It'd probably be a good idea to make sure though...Which testers/test kits do you use or recommend?

1 hour ago, RaymondNoodles said:

Sadly enough I've had that frag for 2 or 3 months. It's not happy. I got the green zoas at the same time and they have done much better. I haven't added any corals or livestock to the tank for a month and a half.

Thanks for the suggestions. I will do that this afternoon.

I have never checked phosphate, calcium or magnesium and don't have a test kit for such, just your basic Red Sea and API test kits. I am pretty new to the hobby. Do you recommend I buy a test kit for those nutrients? I use the Imaginarium pre-mixed water which supposedly has the necessary nutrients. It'd probably be a good idea to make sure though...Which testers/test kits do you use or recommend?