ReefCleaners.org

Hello from Indiana !

Solga

I just wanted to say Hi, and throw a quick introduction out here.

My name is Adam, I am 46 y/o and from a small town about half way between Ft. Wayne & Indy.  I plan on starting a new salt water set up within the next few weeks.  Although I am somewhat new to the "nano" side of saltwater, I am not new to keeping fish.  I have had aquariums for as long as I have memories.  From 10g fresh water to 225 fresh water, and had a couple FOWLR salt water tanks.  My last tank was a feeble attempt at a 20g that was going to be mixed with fish / coral, but I really didn't have the time for it, and I tore it down.  

This time around I am going to plan out everything possible, and have a better start from the beginning.  Eventually, when the kids move out, I will be getting back into a larger (75g +) tank.

My intentions are to get a 12g (or similar size) AIO, from a site supporter, and make it a somewhat mixed reef. 

Stocking plans are not super specific, but more along general guidelines.

I want it to make this into mainly a Zoa / Paly / clove polyp garden with maybe a couple rock anemones.  I do not have any favorite "styles" or names of any of these except for the fireworks clove polyps, I really like those.  What I would like to eventually end up with, is a well balanced mixture of colors and styles on a few different rocks.   I may end up getting a couple 12g AIO's though, one for leathers, and one for the zoa/paly's.  

After I get the tank, I am going to start looking for some place semi-local to get a couple chunks of live rock from an already established system.  I do have about 150 pounds of dry dead rock (most of which has been cleaned with vinegar bath/distilled water rinse) from previous builds, but I do not want to start with those.   There are a couple LFS somewhat close to me, but I am just not too sure how trustworthy they are.  I also intend on getting a bag of the live sand as well.