ReefCleaners.org

New to the salty side!!

Severe Nano Noob

Severe Nano Noob

Hello, Im looking for some guidance.

Im new to reefing, Im wanting to convert my aqua nano 40 to reef tank (used to be freshwater). Where do I start?

I have done some research and emptied all chambers of filters etc. Purchased carbon, purigen, phosguard and filter floss. 

Whats the best way to arrange in the back?

After this am I ready for L rock, sand and salt water(ready made from shop)? 

I already have testing kit ready do I need anything else while its cycling? 

Ive been advised when I get to that stage to addartm colony, wait 1 week then add 2 clowns? 

Im getting fluval nano led and wave maker in the coming weeks as will want corals eventually when tank ready. (Am I ringht by thinking I dont need these until I get corals?

Thanks all in advance 😊 

• Like 1

While cycling, you may want just filter floss. The chemical filtration will pretty much prevent you from being to tell what’s going on with the tank during cycling. 
yes, you need live rock and sand and saltwater to cycle the tank. 
not sure which “colony” you’re referring to in the second-to-last paragraph

yes, light and wave maker can wait a little longer as long as you get enough movement just from your return pump during cycling. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

i mix my own saltwater and always have. currently using Instant Ocean Reef Crystals. This way I know parameters are not likely to change. what size tank is it?

Don't go by a set schedule. Let the tests determine when the tank is ready for livestock. What size tank is it? I added first fish after a month and a 2nd fish a month later. 

I've never used phosgard or Purigen. again, let testing determine if these are needed. You might cause problems by using them if they're not needed. 

Severe Nano Noob

Ok that makes sense. I was just recommended to buy them as the shop seemed certain I would need them at some point. 

So just filter floss while cycling, got it.