inTank Media Baskets

Green Bubble Tip Anemone--- Dying?

veiledfox

pH: 8.1

Ammonia: 0 ppm

Nitrite: 0.125 ppm

Nitrate: 0 ppm

40 gallon tank has been cycling for a few weeks. Added a pair of percula clownfish and green bubble tip anemone. Anemone was looking great and open the other day, last night it started to close. I'm worried it might be dying. It looks like it's starting to open again this morning, but I'm still a bit concerned. I would love to hear any and all opinions. I'm new to the saltwater hobby, so I'm open to suggestions as well. Thank you in advance!

20211012_090804.jpg

Edited by veiledfox
Added tags
47 minutes ago, veiledfox said:

pH: 8.1

Ammonia: 0 ppm

Nitrite: 0.125 ppm

Nitrate: 0 ppm

40 gallon tank has been cycling for a few weeks. Added a pair of percula clownfish and green bubble tip anemone. Anemone was looking great and open the other day, last night it started to close. I'm worried it might be dying. It looks like it's starting to open again this morning, but I'm still a bit concerned. I would love to hear any and all opinions. I'm new to the saltwater hobby, so I'm open to suggestions as well. Thank you in advance!

20211012_090804.jpg

Welcome to nano-reef!  This is great place learn and grow in the hobby.  

Generally speaking, anemone should only be added to mature tanks.  Your tank is showing nitrite, zero ammonia, and no nitrates.  I suspect your cycle is not done which is no bueno... how did you cycle your tank?  If it is cycled, then the other issue is your tank most likely lacks maturity.  BTA are a hardier anemone, but they definitely are not for someone completely new to reefing in my opinion.  Your best bet is to see if who you bought it from will take it back.  Otherwise, try to keep things stable, do a water change, and don't touch the anemone.  Hopefully it will adjust and survive, but nothing is guaranteed. 

Can you tell more about your setup?  Lightning, flow, etc?

• Like 1