Innovative Marine Aquariums

Broke student's 6gal shallow pico

campbell_wat

campbell_wat

I've had this UltumNatureSystems 8x8x24 (6gal ish) set up for about a month now - got it as a birthday gift. Lost my previous pico to dinos and was only able to save some of my old coral... plan is starting an acan garden next week! I have like zero money because I am a full time student so some local alumni are hooking me up with corals to get this thing going again

Current stock:

Jason fox orange rainbow zoa,

Pink diamond zoa,

small hammer coral,

gonzos golden dragons,

orange ricordeas,

GSP,

Green Zoas,

Green palys,

Red and yellow palys,

robust clean up crew and some very mature live rock, no algae issues so far... 

I have been unable to get the orange rainbow or pink diamond zoas to grow in a loooong time so if anyone has some tricks lmk!

Follow along as I try to grow this thing in! It's not my first pico (last one was a 5gal sps dominiant) but any advice is appreciated... last schedule was 70% water change every week. 

Cheers!

Screen Shot 2021-10-01 at 3.49.23 PM.png

• Like 7
campbell_wat

Update #1! 

Got a whole bunch of frags. I don't expect to keep them all but we will see what thrives... chalices, monti cap, some acans, lobphyllia, ciphastrea, forest fire digi, duncans, meteor shower cyphastrea, etc...

Now that everything is planted I'm going to target feed mysis and reef roids every 2 days and 50% wc every week. Minimal hands in the tank is the only way pico reefs see success. All for now!

Screen Shot 2021-10-08 at 1.38.36 AM.png

• Like 2
campbell_wat
4 hours ago, debbeach13 said:

Looking good in there. Did you get all the new coral from a local fish store or place an on line order? 

neither, some local reefers hooked me up with a bunch of "extra" frags they had. Community out here in CO is pretty awesome!

• Like 4
  • 1 month later...

WOW! 

I have done tons of work on this tank since my last post.